Black bird

  • Writing prompt: variations of black

Black bird come and take me. Let me be your wings. There’s darkness all around me, it wants to take me in. It consumes my every moment, when all I want is to be free.  Black bird come and take me. Black bird can you see me? 

This monster is roaming within me again. I have been told to let it be. I’ve been advised not to run and hide but to embrace it. I can’t today. I’m running… as fast as I can… the monster is faster. I tremble, trying to catch my breath. Closing my eyes to stop the tears from falling, but it’s not working. 

Black bird come and take me. Fly me high into the sky where the monster cannot reach me. Sometimes I just want to say goodbye. 

Black bird come and take me. 

Black bird set me free. 

https://pixabay.com/en/sunset-birds-silhouette-1205013/
Leave a Reply

