Where it All Began

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/writing-challenge-reflections/

I began writing long before I knew about the internet. I started with scraps of paper and some pieces of notebook here and there. I don’t know why I started really except that once I did I changed my whole world. I’ve always been addicted to reading. Just to be able to get away from my everyday musings and travel wherever the book would take me. Once I discovered I didn’t always need someone else’s words to take me away,  I was hooked.

We all write for different reasons. Throughout time my reasons have changed. Sometimes I write personal journals because, let’s face it, we all need to vent now and again. Other times I write stories or poems because I’ve been inspired or a simple thought has been planted in my head and I want to see where my mind can take me. Sometimes I write to expand on my skills as a writer. Most of the time however, I write because writing is who I am. It makes me free and happy and I wouldn’t substitute it for anything.  

When I began this blog I wrote because my life had become so overwhelming.  I had no one in my life I could turn to about the things I was dealing with. I needed a place I could vent, seek nonjudgmental advice, and breathe. That is when passionate dreaming was born. Though it started in a depressing state, it has developed into a place I go not only to unwind and vent, but a place I come to for conversations and friendship. I’ve been lucky enough to have met some amazing people on here who have all helped me in some way.  For that I will always be grateful to WordPress.

Why are you writing today?

14 comments

Leave a Reply

