creative writing · poetry · Uncategorized

I stay

I stay

     because financially its easier

          & I’m not so sure I could survive in this world on my own.

I cope alone

     because those closest to me won’t believe my struggles

     & I’m embarrassed to admit to what I have been through.

I dream

     because it keeps me breathing

     & helps to chase the demons away.

I smile

     because I hope you can’t see right through me

     & I don’t want to bring your day down.

I laugh

     because I want to remember that life isn’t always so terrible

     & to exercise my endorphins.

I try

     because even if I fail I can at least say I gave my all

     & it may not have been enough but it was something.

 

Image

 

2 thoughts on “I stay

Leave a Reply

