Reblogs · Uncategorized

Time Travel with Nicki: Ep.1 “The Fistfight”

OMFG I am in the middle of the ICU (i work here) and I am laughing my ass off.. i think i may have peed a little…. great great great story!Add your thoughts here… (optional)

The Nicki Daniels Interview

Becky Braun wanted to beat me up because she was jealous of my new perm. It was 1986, I was in the fifth grade, and the permanent wave was EVERYWHERE. Everyone from my parents to my MTV idols were rocking crowns of massively poufed and hairsprayed curls. In retrospect, it is hard to believe that people were paying good money to look like electrocuted poodles, but at the time, I wanted one. Desperately.

My mom was a hairdresser who worked out of a tiny salon in our basement. On lazy afternoons, our little Cape Cod house would slowly fill with the wafting fumes of chemicals and cigarette smoke as she coiffed the manes of friends and neighbors. After months of begging, it was my turn in the chair. I watched as she tightly wrapped my baby-fine hair in the brightly colored plastic rollers and applied the stinky solution. After what seemed like 7 hours, she rinsed me…

View original post 1,340 more words

Leave a Reply

