Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Eater

Cheater, Cheater, pumpkin eater,
Had a wife but couldn’t keep her;
He put her in a pumpkin shell
And there he kept her very well

Image

My husband and I were talking last night and something he said has still got me feeling ill at ease, for lack of a better word. While conversing with one of his coworkers, the subject of cheating on your wife came up. While my husband began to say he could never imagine cheating on me his coworker interrupted him saying that every man cheats on his wife. Its a common practice and then they act like it never happened, never admitting to the deed. Are                       you                  serious? I mean is this a true fact? Does this happen? How often does it happen? Is my husband going to cheat on me? Has he already? What the hell am I missing here?

 

So while I’m sitting at the kitchen table aghast and wordless, said husband proceeds to tell me that most of the men at his job agreed with said coworker. WHAT THE FUCK?

Am I crazy for thinking that is insane?

Gentlemen, husbands please tell me is this true?

What have i signed up for?

Image

 

And of course I need to know the facts on marriage infidelity….

brought to you by http://www.statisticbrain.com/infidelity-statistics/

 

Marriage Infidelity Statistics Data
Percent of marriages where one or both spouses admit to infidelity, either physical or emotional 41 %
Percent of men who admit to committing infidelity in any relationship they’ve had 57 %
Percentage of women who admit to committing infidelity in any relationship they’ve had 54 %
Percent of married men who have strayed at least once during their married lives 22 %
Percent of married women who have strayed at least once during their married lives 14 %
Percentage of men and women who admit to having an affair with a co-worker 36 %
Percentage of men and women who admit to infidelity on business trips 35%
Percentage of men and women who admit to infidelity with a brother-in-law or sister-in-law 17 %
Average length of an affair 2 years
Percentage of marriages that last after an affair has been admitted to or discovered 31 %
Percentage of men who say they would have an affair if they knew they would never get caught 74 %
Percentage of women who say they would have an affair if they knew they would never get caught 68 %
Percent of children who are the product of infidelity 3 %

 

I’m sorry but these numbers are outrageous. How hard is it to stay committed to one person? Is it really such a burden? If so why the fuck did you get married in the first place?

I could go on and on but let me stop.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Eater

  1. I guess I would say this … for every man who cheats on his wife, there’s a woman on the other side. So, it seems to be a two-way street. Regardless of the circumstances, though, it’s a shame it happens as often as it does. This goes back to the comment thread from last night … two people need to be willing to talk, listen, communicate, share, and compromise … and a whole lot of other things … if they don’t want this to happen. Unfortunately, far too many people don’t get that. Why do people cheat? Mostly because there’s something they’re not getting from the person they need to be getting it from. I’d say it begins and ends with “she/he isn’t listening.”

    1. Wow. I dont know I just could never imagine doing that. Isn’t the smart thing to just tell your partner youre unhappy and u need a break and then youre free to initiate with another person? hmmm maybe thats just me

Leave a Reply

