Even if it hurts, never stop yourself from living.

20130919-183246.jpg

“Life is painful and messed up. It gets complicated at the worst of times, and sometimes you have no idea where to go or what to do. Lots of times people just let themselves get lost, dropping into a wide open, huge abyss. But that’s why we have to keep trying. We have to push through all that hurts us, work past all our memories that are haunting us. Sometimes the things that hurt us are the things that make us strongest. A life without experience, in my opinion, is no life at all. And that’s why I tell everyone that, even when it hurts, never stop yourself from living.”
― Alysha Speer

Today at work I decided to get my creative juices flowing and make a new brochure for the unit. Yes it’s a pretty simple task. It took me about 2 hours but when I finished my project and saw how it came out I felt so accomplished. I felt joy and happiness and I was proud of myself. It came out great and I’m just waiting to see how my educator will react to it. But that is beside the point.

If you have been keeping up with my posts you should know how depressed and unsure of myself I have been tense past few months. How lost I feel and how worthless I seem. Today this little project I brought upon myself made me see myself in such a different light. I felt good about me for the first time in months. That’s the key isn’t it? Doing things that make you feel good despite all your shortcomings. I guess that’s what has been missing all along.

I need to do more of the things I love… The things I’m good at. I have such a creative soul and I need to let it break free much more often. I escape my darkness by falling head first into the books I read and though I will never ever stop indulging myself with my books I now know that maybe just being myself is good enough to make me happy. On to the next project 🙂

I’d love to hear from you ideas of ways to be creative! Please comment!

2 comments

  1. I think doing something you love is one of the best ways to refocus your mind and energy on positives instead of negatives. I’m so glad you got to work on your project! For me the best way to be creative is to plan things for teen ministry (lessons, events) or write (on here or in my journal). In the end it not only gets my mind off of things I shouldn’t worry about, it also brings joy back into my life because I get to do what I love!

Leave a Reply

